Boy Scouts of America

The Boy Scouts of America was incorporated on February 8, 1910.  We have celebrated a centennial of positive impact on American society and American young people. We are stepping boldly into our next century of service to the families of our community.

Community-based organizations receive national charters to implement the Scouting program as a part of their youth programming. These groups, which have goals compatible with those of the BSA, include school groups, churches, civic clubs, fraternal and business organizations, among others. Our programs are grade specific and age appropriate:

Cub Scouting

  • Lion Cubs:  Kindergarten
  • Tiger Cubs:  First Grade
  • Cub Scouts:  Second - Third Grade
  • Webelos:  Fourth - Fifth Grade

Boy Scouting

  • Boy Scouts: Ages 11-18
  • Varsity Scouts: Ages 14-18


  • Co-Ed Programming Ages 14-20

Volunteer adult leaders serve at all levels of Scouting. Each volunteer provides guidance, direction and supervision of activities for a specific group. Each volunteer is provided training to complete their role. These adults are the backbone of our organization's success.


Hoosier Trails Council

The Hoosier Trails Council, Boy Scouts of America benefits youth through programs of character development and values-based leadership training.  We positively impact youth and families in 18 counties in south-central Indiana, provided fun and adventure to more than 6,000 youth each year.  Scouts are mentored by caring adults who guide them through our advancement programs, which have a proven track-record of giving kids a head start on leading successful lives.

The Council  maintains two camp properties: Maumee Scout Reservation and Camp Louis Ernst. Most Scouting activities, including Summer Camp take place at Maumee Scout Reservation.

The Hoosier Trails Council is governed by a Board of Volunteer Directors, who assist in decision-making, policy enforcement and activity preparation. Below is a list of the "Key 3" Council Officers:

President                             Mark Levett

Council Commissioner         Mark Wilson

Scout Executive/CEO          Glen R. Steenberger



The Council itself is divided into four geographic areas, or Districts which represent counties:

Hoosier Hills:  Dearborn, Jefferson, Ohio, Ripley, Switzerland

Lenni Lenape:  Bartholomew, Decatur, Jackson, Jennings

Wapehani:  Brown, Monroe, Morgan, Owen

White River Trails:  Daviess, Greene, Lawrence, Martin, Orange