Wood Badge Award of the Year

Online Nomination Form


Recognizes sustained service to Scouting and Wood Badge

Award Criteria:

  • Award may be received only once.
  • To be eligible person must be a registered Scouter.
  • Recipient must have a long and sustained commitment to supporting Wood Badge.
  • Recipient should have contributed significantly to furthering Scouting and its ideals.
  • Recipient should exhibit and promote Scouting spirit.
  • Recipient should minimize self-promotion.
  • Recipient should always be willing to lend a hand.
  • Service as a Wood Badge Course Director by itself is not a criteria for the award.


As a nominator if your candidate is selected you will be asked to insure the participants attendance, and aid in notification and encouragement of family and friends to attend the presentation ceremony.

Be sure to take a moment and prepare the nominee information you'll need to enter in the form. The info for the main section "Summary of why this Scouter is being nominated" can be written in advance and then copied into the form field.


STEP 1.  Enter the basic information for the person you are nominating.

STEP 2.  Enter or copy & paste the Wood Badge history information needed to complete the "Summary of why this Scouter is being nominated" form field.

STEP 3.  Enter YOUR information last, as the person who is making the nomination.

DEADLINE:  Online or paper applications must be received in the Longhorn Council Hurst Service Center by 5:00 PM on January 2, 2019


 Other Award Forms (click on the title to switch to a different award):

  • Wood Badge Award of the Year:  recognizes sustained service to Scouting and Wood Badge.
  • Distinguished Service to Wood Badge:  recognizes significant service to Scouting and Wood Badge over the last year.
  • Wood Badge Legacy Award:  recognizes a Wood Badger that through life long service has obtained the goal of leaving a legacy.
  • Wood Badge Recruiter of the Year Award:  recognizes the person who, through determination, recruited the most participants during the previous year’s courses.