Work Hard, Inspire Youth, Make New Friends!

The Mountaineer Area Council is accepting seasonal staff applications to work at Camp Mountaineer! Camp staff members are provided the opportunity to learn leadership skills, explore outdoor activities, meet new friends, and get paid for the summer! Over 30 individuals are hired each summer to teach Scouts all types of outdoor skills. Throughout it all ... we have lots of FUN!

Salaries depend on certifications, relevant experience, and the level of responsibility. Meals and housing are provided as a benefit of employment. Prospective staff members must be at least 15-years-old prior to the beginning of camp to serve as paid staff members, or 14-years-old to volunteer in the Counselor-in-Training (CIT) camper program. Camp Staff training starts in mid-June and the season continues through the end of July.  Specific dates of employment are subject to change by the council and/or camp management.

*2022 Camp Staff Schedule
*specific dates may change slightly due to camp attendance and/or health & safety restrictions

  • Camp Staff Training:  Sunday, June 12- Saturday, June 18
  • Cub Scout Resident Camp:  Sunday, June 19 - Thursday, June 23
  • Scouts BSA Resident Camp (week 1):  Sunday, June 26 - Saturday, July 2
  • Scouts BSA Resident Camp (week 2):  Sunday, July 3 - Saturday, July 9
  • Scouts BSA Resident Camp (week 3):  Sunday, July 10 - Saturday, July 16
  • Scouts BSA Resident Camp (week 4):  Sunday, July 17 - Saturday, July 23
  • Staff Camp Closing:  Sunday, July 24 - Wednesday, July 27