Elbert K. Fretwell Outstanding Educator Award

The Boy Scouts of America aims to instill lifelong values from the Scout Oath and Law into young people. While the organization often focuses on the impact of Scout leaders and BSA professionals, members of the education community also fulfill this mission.

To recognize the valuable contributions the education community makes in the lives of young people, the BSA introduced the Elbert K. Fretwell Outstanding Educator Award in 2016. Teachers, coaches, administrators, custodians, cafeteria workers, and many others can have a profound impact on preparing youth to become better citizens and leaders. These educators understand that ‘Scouting’ values can also make excellent ‘teaching’ values.

Nominees do not need to be current or former members of the Boy Scouts of America. Their experience in education must be in one or more of the following 12 counties: Barbour, Doddridge, Gilmer, Harrison, Lewis, Marion, Monongalia, Preston, Randolph, Taylor, Tucker, and Upshur.

Nominate a deserving educator by completing this form by May 31.  Candidates should not know that they have been nominated.